DMFF Awards

The festival has been handing out the DMFF Awards every year since 2014. There are three prizes awarded for the best entries. These films undergo rigorous adjudication by an experienced jury.


The main prize is the Crossborder DMFF Award for the most artistic mountain film: this is rewarded with a cash sum of €1,500. The Best Newcomer Award is prise presented to the best debut mountain film and is worth €1,000. Finally, there is the Parkstad Limburg jury prize, worth €500, which is handed out to the production which the jury feels, for a variety of reasons, should be brought to the attention of a wider public. Each of the winners receives a trophy: the Steinman, created by artist Leo Horbach.

The jury for the film awards is made up of professionals working in the film industry, (arts) education, (alpine) journalism and/or mountaineering, each of whom has an affinity with mountains and cinematography. The jury consists of three persons who, one month prior to the festival, are tasked with making a selection from all the submissions. The films which are presented to the jury for appraisal are also screened during the festival.

A new award has been created for the 2019 festival. This is for the best mountaineering film and comes with a cash prize of €1,000. The Best Mountaineering Film Award will be selected and awarded by, which specialises in the supply of artificial climbing structures, inspections and approval.


DMFF Awards 2018

Crossborder DMFF Award 2018

Richard Parry

De Spiegel Best Newcomers Award 2018

Alptraum – The last great adventure
Manuel Lobmaier

Parkstad Limburg Jury Award 2018

Johannes Östergård


DMFF Awards 2017

Crossborder DMFF Award 2017

Through the unknown (Verso l’ignoto)
Frederico Santini

De Spiegel Best Newcomer Award 2017

In between
Rolf Steinmann

Parkstad Limburg Jury Award 2017

Lloyd Belcher


DMFF Awards 2016

Crossborder DMFF Award 2016

K2 – Touching the sky
Eliza Kubarska

De Spiegel Best Newcomer Award 2016

Julia Poplawska

Parkstad Limburg Jury Award 2016

First Ascent – Kunyang Chhish East
Matteo Vittorel


DMFF Awards 2015

DMFF Award 2015

Hemelbestormers/ Killerslope
Geertjan Lassche

DMFF Best Newcomer Award 2015

Karlijn Milder

DMFF Parkstad Limburg Award 2015

Live for Passion
Pavel Barabas


DMFF Awards 2014

DMFF Award 2014

Philip Eyer

DMFF Best Newcomers Award 2014

Franz Walter

DMFF Spiegel Award 2014

Kurt und der Sessellift
Thaïs Odermatt

The DMFF-trophy ‘Steinman’ by artist Leo Horbach